How long are beta fish supposed to live for?

Because your fish is usually 6 months – 1 year old by the time you buy it, you can expect him to live for around 2 – 2.5 years old. However, it's not uncommon for Bettas to live until 4 or 5 years old if they are given the perfect tank conditions and cared for properly.