Where does the saying raining cats and dogs come from?

The etymology of the phrase is unknown, but antiquities scholars theorize that the phrase arose from Noah’s Ark in Genesis (ch. 6-9). Speculation is that monkeys and bored primates on the ark made sport of throwing cats and dogs (like footballs) to each other POORLY making it “rain” cats and dogs.