What is m. e. a.?

The Michigan Education Association (MEA) is a self-governing education association, representing about 120,000 teachers, education support professionals and higher-education employees throughout the state. MEA started in 1852 as the Michigan State Teachers Association with 20 teachers in Ypsilanti.