How is glitter made?

Most glitter is made out of a combination of aluminum and plastic, in most cases Polyethylene terephthalate . Although not as common as plastic-glitter, some craft glitters are made out of metal and glass. The most important aspect of glitter is, obviously, that it glitters.

---

Glitter is usually made by printing thin sheets of plastics or metals with brightly colored paint. Those sheets are then cut up into extremely tiny pieces to make glitter.