What happened january twenty eighth nineteen eighty six?

This day in history: Jan. 28, 1986. Space Shuttle Challenger disintegrates after liftoff, killing all seven astronauts on board. Space Shuttle Challenger disintegrates after liftoff, killing all seven astronauts on board.