Why do we have a belly button?

Your belly button is the spot where your umbilical cord was once attached up to the point of your birth.

---

Your belly button marks the spot where your umbilical cord was once attached. This cord is a soft, bendable tube that carried nutrients — vitamins and minerals — from your mother to you, back when you were in her belly (womb). A belly button is also called a navel.