Why are egg yolks yellow?

the yolks are colored with a substance called xanthophylls, which is found in chicken feed, yellow corn, or alfalfa meal. The more xanthophylls in the food chickens eat, the darker yellow the yolks will be.

---

According to Wikipedia, egg yolks yellow color is due to the lutein and zeaxanthin it contains. The darker the egg yolk the more nutrients it has.