Is upstairs one word?

Yes

---

Yes, "upstairs" is usually written as a single word. A significant exception is when attention is to be drawn to the stairs, as a noun. "Walking upstairs" (one word) is a change of location, while "walking up stairs" (two words) is an action done in order to change location.