Why were they called the silent generation?

Its unclear where the term originated. As young adults during the McCarthy Era, many of the Silent Generation felt it was dangerous to speak out. Time Magazine first used the term "Silent Generation" in an article from 1951 entitled "The Younger Generation". However the term precedes the publication

---

The Silent Generation refers to people who were born between 1925 and 1945. There where the label 'Silent Generation' because they grew up during the Great Depression and fought in WW2. They worked very hard, kept quiet, didn’t complain, and did what needed to be done.