What do turtles do in the winter time?

A cold turtle has a slow metabolism. The colder it gets, the slower its metabolism, which translates into lower energy and oxygen demands. When turtles hibernate, they rely on stored energy and uptake oxygen from the pond water by moving it across body surfaces that are flush with blood vessels.