How do i make mashed potatoes from scratch?

Peel potatoes. Place in pot, cover with water and boil until tender. Drain, then place in container for mashing. Add milk, butter, salt and pepper to taste and mix well. Some people prefer whipping their potatoes with a mixer. It's really up to you.