Do ferns need a lot of sunlight?

Most ferns do well in part shade or dappled sunlight, but there are many which will do well with quite a bit of sun, provided they get enough water. Shade loving ferns appreciate an organic, evenly moist, well drained soil. Once in the garden, ferns in general do not require additional fertilizer