Do bats sleep with their eyes open?

Bats typically sleep with their eyes open. While they can close their eyes when they are resting, they do not usually enter a deep sleep state where their eyes are completely closed. Bats sleep hanging upside down, so if they were to close their eyes completely they would risk falling.