What's a monkey puzzle tree?

monkey puzzle tree, (Araucaria araucana), also called Chile pine, an evergreen ornamental and timber conifer of the family Araucariaceae, native to the Andes Mountains of South America. the tree was declared a natural monument in Chile the species is considered endangered