What is the difference between the academy awards and the golden globe awards?

The Academy Awards are awarded by the U.S. Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences for the best in U.S. film for the immediate year prior to the ceremony. The Golden Globes celebrate both motion pictures but also television and they are awarded by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association.