Why was christmas associated with misbehavior?

In Central European folklore, a character called Krampus is present during the Christmas season to punish children who have misbehaved. This contrasts with Saint Nicholas, who rewards the well-behaved with gifts. No one knows the origin of the story of Krampus, which probably pre-dates Christianity.