What is the omega thirteen?

In the movie Galaxy Quest the Omega 13 device was an unknown device... Until... Upon its activation at the end of the movie, the Omega 13 was proven to be a matter re-arranger which helped Jason Nesmith stop Sarris, from killing the crew on the command deck.