How is lightning caused?

Lightning results from a buildup of static electricity in a cloud. Rapidity rising air can strip electrons away from molecules and carry them up into a cloud. If the voltage becomes large enough, a lightning bolt will result, sometimes just within the cloud, sometimes from the cloud to ground.