Where does the name delany come from?

Delaney is an Irish surname derived from the Gaelic Ó Dubhshláine, Dubh meaning black and Sláine for the River Sláine (Slaney). DeLaney is also of Norman origin. There is a branch of Dulaneys in the United States who trace back to a Thomas Delany.