How do cactuses grow in the desert?

Not all deserts, only deserts in the Americas (with a few exceptions of succulents in Africa) cactus grow primarily in North and South America. They store water with the help of modified leaves we call spikes. They have very short roots and are fully developed for surviving in bad lands.