What is a holly tree?

A holly tree is characterized by its glossy leaves and its small fruit groupings, ranging in color from red, brown, black, green or yellow. Larger variety trees can grow over 80 feet tall. Holly can grow as an evergreen or deciduous tree, shrub, or climber, and consists of 480 different spiecies.