When was indoor plumbing common?

In 1829 the Tremont Hotel of Boston was the first hotel of its kind to feature indoor plumbing for guests. Eight water closets were built by Isaiah Rogers. Until 1840, indoor water closets were commonly found in the homes of the rich and luxury hotels.