Is sixteen gauge thicker than eighteen gauge?

it seemingly goes against logic, earrings and other jewelry sizes actually get bigger the lower the number of the gauge. An 18 gauge, one of the smallest gauges, is actually smaller than a 16 gauge earring, with the largest gauges being 0, 00, and 000 gauge jewelry.