What happened to steve perry from journey?

According to iheart.com, "he left Journey officially in 1996 due to a crippling hip injury that prevented him from touring, His lack of creative output was a stark change from his time in Journey, a band that was seemingly either on tour or in the studio for the entirety of the 1980s."