What is a hippo?

The hippopotamus, or hippo, is a gray skinned, plant eating, water loving mammal, living primarily in central and south Africa. Hippos can weigh up to 3,000 lbs.. Despite their short legs, they are capable of running up to 20 mph. The name comes from ancient Greek for, river horse.