What is a gold doubloon?

The doubloon (from Spanish doblón, meaning "double") was a two-escudo or 32-real gold coin, weighing 6.867 grams (0.218 troy ounces) in 1537, and 6.766 grams from 1728, of . 917 fine gold (22-carat gold).