What is the bass line?

The "bass line" is an informal term that usually refers to the lowest-sounding pitched voice in a piece of music. Depending on the style, the bass line is often performed by an electric bass guitar, an upright double bass, or a synthesizer, but almost any instrument or human voice is possible.