What's a loop de loop?

The dictionary lists a loop-the-loop as a thrill ride that sends its passengers in a complete 360 degree circle. It is more commonly used to describe anything doing the same movement. A plane can loop the loop in the sky when turns in a vertical circle.

---

A loop-de-loop is a vertical loop or 360 degree turn in a roller coaster track, derived from a similar aerobatic maneuver.