What are the two methods of cuddling eggs?

You can coddle an egg either in its shell, by covering it with near boiling water and letting it stand; or by cracking the egg into a container, such as an egg coddler or a ramekin, and then putting the container into a hot water bath. This latter method can be done on the stovetop or in the oven.