What is a marsh bird?

Marsh birds are a group of waterbirds including rails, bitterns, grebes, gallinules, and snipe that typically inhabit dense, emergent wetlands. These species are known for their secretive nature. They are seldom seen or heard because they vocalize infrequently and prefer inaccessible wetland habitat