What causes fruit flies?

Fruit flies lay their eggs near the surface of fermenting foods or other moist, organic materials. Fruit flies are especially attracted to ripened fruits and vegetables. But they also will breed in drains, garbage disposals, empty bottles and cans, trash containers, mops and cleaning rags.