How long was el salvador colonized?

In 1609, the area was the Captaincy General of Guatemala by the Spanish, which included territory that would become El Salvador until its independence from Spain in 1821. It was forcibly incorporated into the First Mexican Empire, then seceded, joining the Federal Republic of Central America in 1823