What is s. bestos?

Asbestos refers to a group of six types of naturally occurring minerals. Asbestos minerals are made up of fine, durable fibers and are resistant to heat, fire and many chemicals. Exposure to the group of minerals can lead to pleural mesothelioma and other diseases, such as lung cancer or asbestosis.