Why do they call it a marathon?

According to legend, the Greek messenger Pheidippides had to run from the battlefield in Marathon all the way to Athens to announce the defeat of the Persians. The original footrace was called a marathon in honor of the legend and as a result it also covered the same distance of 25 miles.