What is the eye of newt?

"Eye of Newt" is actually Mustard Seed. Throughout history, herbalists have been labeling their herbal ingredients using animal or body parts to keep their remedies secret. For example, "eye of..." refers to a round shaped blossom or seed of a specific plant and "newt" refers to the mustard plant.