How do you defeat papyrus in undertale?

Unlock the pacifist ending. Spare Papyrus for a couple of turns, then Flirt with him, and then attempt to Spare him for the remainder of the fight. He will never kill you as your HP goes only to 1 and will let you pass after several attempts.