Where did the term cold turkey originate from?

The earliest reference to 'cold turkey' in relation to drug withdrawal is from a Canadian newspaper in 1921. It may be because the addict's blood is directed to internal organs when quitting drugs cold turkey, leaving the skin white and with goose bumps, although there's no firm evidence.