What is the tv show three's company about?

It is about 2 girls and one guy that share an apartment as room mates. But when this show was first broadcast in the 1970's, it was sort of scandalous for a single man to be room mates with single women. The building manager tries to make sure that nothing inappropriate happens (it is a sit-com).