Who was the sixth hokage?

Kakashi becomes the 6th because 1) he did great job and he gained popularity, and 2) Naruto was very young. Then, Naruto becomes the 7th Hokage. I think that Kakashi was a really good Hokage.

---

Danzo Shimura was appointed 6th Hokage for a brief period, but did not receive the affirmative vote from the Jonin counsel confirming the title. Therefore, Kakashi Hatake, was the official 6th Hokage after Tsunade retired from the position.