Do cockroaches have tongues?

Cockroaches don't have a tongue loaded with tastebuds like we do. No, they have little 'tasting' hairs all over — on the legs, feet, wings and yes, around the mouthparts. Inside these hairs are specialised receptor cells that respond to 'sweet' or 'bitter'.