What's the history of the national anthem?

It was written as a poem by Frances Scott Keys in September 14, 1814. It was originally called The Defence of Fort M'Henry. It was set to the music of an English drinking song. People refered to it as the Star Spangled Banner. It became the national anthem in 1931.