Why was alexander hamilton shot?

Alexander Hamilton was shot because he could not find a non-violent way to settle his long, bitter rivalry with Aaron Burr. The two engaged in a pistol duel on July 11, 1804. Burr shot Hamilton and he died the next day.

---

He was shot in a duel with Aaron Burr, his rival and enemy. Hamilton kept interfering with Burr's political agenda, blocking him from president and from governor of New York. The latest interference for governor was the last straw and Burr challenged Hamilton to a duel, then shot and killed him.