How to tell if gold is real or fake?

Apply pressure to the metal with a thin instrument, if u are able to make a dent in the metal and the color stays consistent, then it's gold. To make sure it's real gold and to get details such as quality and karats go to a professional jewelry store or a lab for analysis.