Who invented hot cocoa?

Hans Sloan. London pharmacies manufactured the beverage as a medicinal remedy. In the 19th century, the Cadbury Brothers commercialized the recipe as “Sir Hans Sloane's Milk Chocolate.” As hot milk chocolate's popularity spread, so did Sloane's fame as the inventor of modern hot chocolate.