Why did saber tooth tigers go extinct?

Many factors are attributed to the extinction of the ice age predator such as climate change and a loss of their prey animals that also went extinct.

---

At the end of the last ice age the saber-toothed cat, along with many other megafauna, died off during the Quaternary extinction. Paleontologist Larisa DeSantis says that even though the exact cause can't be determined, that it's unlikely it was the result of gradually declining prey.