What is paregoric acid?

There is no such thing as "paregoric acid". "Paregoric" is the commercial name for camphorated tincture of opium, which has been used to treat a variety of ailments, from teething pain to diarrhea. Once a popular apothecary item, it's use has declined, as one of its side effects is opiate addiction.