How do you catch a housefly?

It is very hard to catch a housefly because they are so fast and they can see and react faster than a human can. Try waiting until the fly is sitting still, then very quickly lower a glass over the fly so that it is inside of the glass. Then carefully slide a piece of paper under the glass & fly.