What does local parentis mean?

In loco parentis is a Latin phrase meaning "in the place of a parent," which is used to describe the legal responsibility of a person or organization that takes on some of the functions and responsibilities of a parent.

---

In loco parentis refers to a relationship in which a person puts himself or herself in the situation of a parent by assuming and discharging the obligations of a parent to a child.