Where is the tri tip located on a cow?

The tri-tip is a triangular cut of beef from the bottom sirloin subprimal cut, consisting of the tensor fasciae latae muscle. Untrimmed, the tri-tip weighs around 5 pounds. The cut was known in the United States as early as 1915, called "the triangle part" of the loin butt.