Why was pig latin created?

Some history buffs believe Pig Latin, may have gotten its start in word games played by monks to play with real Latin. Hence, the term Pig Latin was a reference to the fact that it was a corrupted version of that ancient tongue, with consistent patterns, making it distinguishable in its own right.